As rádios emitem em várias frequências. Estes episódios, contudo, situam-se numa frequência diferente, não uma de rádio, mas de radio. Como em Radioterapia. Episódios de um tratamento oncológico (à suivre)
Terça-feira, 20 de Dezembro de 2011

My chief consolation in this year of living dyingly has been the presence of friends. I can’t eat or drink for pleasure anymore, so when they offer to come it’s only for the blessed chance to talk. Some of these comrades can easily fill a hall with paying customers avid to hear them: they are talkers with whom it’s a privilege just to keep up. Now at least I can do the listening for free. Can they come and see me? Yes, but only in a way. So now every day I go to a waiting room, and watch the awful news from Japan on cable TV (often closed-captioned, just to torture myself) and wait impatiently for a high dose of protons to be fired into my body at two-thirds the speed of light. What do I hope for? If not a cure, then a remission. And what do I want back? In the most beautiful apposition of two of the simplest words in our language: the freedom of speech.

 

 

excertos de Unspoken Truths, um artigo de Christopher Hitchens na Vanity Fair (June 2011), sublinhados meus.

 

 

[O Christopher teve um ano parecido com o meu...]

publicado por Silvina às 20:54


mais sobre mim
pesquisar
 
Últ. comentários
O Kiva.org é uma ideia bem interessante. Porém, te...
O Kiva.org é uma ideia bem interessante. Porém, te...
Como era linda, meu deus!
Em Janeiro de 2016, aos 53 anos, foi-me diagnostic...
To Blog parabens pela radio !
Desculpe mas percebeu mal: Tout va bien como uma e...